My Black Days

Life is one of those things you cannot plan
You think you know what is going to happen
And something else comes to pass
I knew how my life was going to play out
Whom I was going to marry, how many kids
But now I know that will not come to pass

The sun can send it’s warmest rays
The birds can sing their merry songs
My family can celebrate my life
My friends can drag me out on the town
And my coworkers can involve me in things
But none of that can penetrate my cold heart

I remember the first time I saw you
And the awkward situation we found ourselves in
I close my eyes and see the perfect smile
That you always had when you were happy
I think back to when you said you loved me
I thought that I ruled the world

But now I don’t pretend to rule anything
Everyday is a fight for my sanity
All I see for my future is a dark place
That holds enemies and challenges
That will eliminate my will to live
And will bring my miserable existence to an end

God abandoned me on that fateful day
That he took you away from me
And while I cannot commit suicide
It doesn’t mean that I can live with myself
The sooner that I die, the better it is
Because then we can be together again

Leave a comment