A Soft Heart

Your vows to me didn’t mean anything
The deed is done, never to be forgotten
I am here all alone in this big house
Trying to figure out where it all went bad

We are going to lead two different lives
Your love for me dead, never to be rekindled
I wonder what I did to you that was so bad
For you to decide to love someone else

I lie in our bed crying over you
My heart shattered, never to be whole again
Even though you are the one that broke it
I would gladly let you have it back

I love you, even now when I should hate
My heart longs for you, never to be fulfilled
And I will keep myself warm inside
With the memories of you being with me

So go on with your life wherever that may be
I will stay here, never to be out of your shadow
You have my best wishes for your future
And may fortune always be on your side

Leave a comment